David Brown’s Wildlife Services

The snow of the winter, what there was of it, is now gone, and with it the clean slate on which was recorded the tracks and trails of winter active animals. Now the ‘subtle season’ begins, challenging the tracker to sharpen his senses for other animal sign, often hiding in plain sight against a confusing background of dead leaf and other previously hidden surfaces. Sign that has been concealed in and under the snowpack since the fall has devolved to that surface for us to find, identify and interpret.

Not only is this hidden sign disclosed, but the woods, fields and wetlands are now alive with the activity of mating, rearing and storing that will go on until the fall. Much of this is available to us by sight and sound as we search for animal sign. Join us as we seek to reveal the life all around us that hides from us in foliage and the night.

Spring-summer 2022 programs calendar:

  • Sunday, April 3: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, April 10: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, April 24: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, May 1: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, May 15: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, May29: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, June 12: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, June 26: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, July 10: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, July 24: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, August 7: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.
  • Sunday, August 28: Quabbin tracking. See the Quabbin Trails page for details.

Programs for early winter 2022 will be posted in October.